Skip to Main Content

Distinguished Alumnus/na Award

September 19, 2019 By Webb Alumni Office

Allison Page, President of Discovery, Inc.’s Joint Venture with Magnolia, Named Webb’s Distinguished Alumna for 2019

Each year, Webb School of Knoxville hosts several events to recognize and honor the achievements and contributions of its alumni. Spartan graduates are central to the

Webb School legacy and the school is extremely proud to celebrate their accomplishments.

For 2019, Webb has named Class of 1993 alumna Allison Page as the recipient of its Distinguished Alumnus/na Award. The honor is among the highest bestowed upon a member of the school’s alumni community and is presented annually to a Spartan alumnus/na whose business or professional accomplishments and service to others exemplify the goals of Webb School in the spirit of its motto, Principes Non Homines – Leaders Not Men.

Allison Page is the President of Discovery, Inc.’s joint venture with Magnolia, the home and lifestyle brand led by Chip and Joanna Gaines. In this role, she oversees all programming, development and operations for the multiplatform media company, comprised of a linear television network and TV Everywhere app to be unveiled in 2020.

Previously, Page was President of HGTV and Food Network, where she managed all programming and development for the two dynamic lifestyle brands. Prior to Discovery’s acquisition of Scripps Networks Interactive, Page served as Senior Vice President and General Manager of U.S. Programming and Development for the company’s HGTV, Food Network, Travel Channel, DIY Network, Cooking Channel, and Great American Country brands. Under her leadership, series such as Fixer Upper, Flip or Flop and Brother vs. Brother garnered record ratings for HGTV.

Page graduated with honors from Northwestern University with a bachelor’s degree in American studies. She started her career at CBS News Productions and later became an associate producer at CBS News Sunday Morning. Page joined Food Network in 2001 and spent many years developing primetime series for Rachael Ray, Giada De Laurentiis, Bobby Flay, and Guy Fieri. Known as a key strategist and dynamic leader who developed hit shows, as well as successful sales and digital partnerships, Page’s efforts were central to Food Network’s record-breaking, double-digit ratings growth and instrumental in the successful launch of Cooking Channel in 2010.

A member of the Board of Directors for Realscreen West 2019, Page has served on the advisory board for the Tennessee Film, Entertainment and Music Commission and on the Board of Directors for the Knoxville Museum of Art. She is also active with Women in Cable Telecommunications (WICT). In 2018, Page was named to the Cablefax 100, which honors the most influential players in the cable industry, and was given the 2018 Power Woman Leadership Award by New York Moves magazine. She is the recipient of the 2015 WICT Southeast Woman of the Year Award. And in 2014, Page was recognized as a “Woman to Watch” by Multichannel News, which also named her to its “40 Under 40” list in 2012.

Page and her husband, Connor Coffey, reside in Knoxville, Tennessee, with their two children.

About the Distinguished Alumnus/na Award

Webb School of Knoxville’s Distinguished Alumnus/na Award is presented annually to an alumnus/na whose business or professional accomplishments and service to others exemplify the goals of Webb School in the spirit of its motto, “principes non homines – leaders not men.”
Nominations are received from alumni and other members of the Webb community. Webb’s Alumni Association Board will decide the recipient from the pool of candidates. Once submitted, nominations are kept on file for consideration for five consecutive years.
If you know of an alumnus/na who you would like to be considered for the award, please complete the nomination form here.
1991 – Jefferson Chapman ’61
1992 – Robin L. Line ’64
1993 – Teresa E. Barnett ’75
1994 – W. Baxter Lee ’61
1995 – William Haslam ’76
1996 – Monica Langley ’76
1997 – Michael McClamroch ’82
1998 – Minky Worden ’85
1999 – Iang Jeon ’78
2000 – Missy Bell Boltwood ’81
2001 – Paige Overton Pitts ’84
2002 – Doug Briggs ’79
2003 – Terri Tarvin Ward ’75
2004 – Chad Pennington ’95
2005 – Rebecca Hardin ’84
2006 – Joseph M. Tipton ’64
2007 – David A. Bowen ’70
2008 – Charles L. Moore Jr. ’84
2009 – Julia Webb Bland ’69
2010 – Sharon G. Lee ’71
2011 – John L. (Jack) Neely ’76
2012 – Jim Hart ’60
2013 – Chip Denton ’76
2014 – Bill Bass ’80
2015 – Sarah Trahern ’82
2016 – Vance Link ’67
2017 – Maurie McInnis ’84
2018 – Herbert Slatery ’70
2019 – Allison Page ’93
2020 – Omar Baldonado ‘87